Back in Freo (IN ENGLISH this time) - Reisverslag uit Fremantle, Australië van Thijs Mahler - WaarBenJij.nu Back in Freo (IN ENGLISH this time) - Reisverslag uit Fremantle, Australië van Thijs Mahler - WaarBenJij.nu

Back in Freo (IN ENGLISH this time)

Door: Thijs

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Thijs

08 December 2013 | Australië, Fremantle

Good morning everybody,

At the moment I'm already back in Freo for 4 weeks so here is a little update of those weeks. I also decided to do it in English because it is actually easier than to do it in Dutch, because im hardly speaking any Dutch anyway nowadays. It is also a gesture to all the awesome people I met the last year and who are not able to speak nor read Dutch.

Wednesday the 5th of November I arrived back in Fremantle in the hostel where I already spend quite a bit of time the last months, The Old Firestation.

The budget I had for 5 weeks New Zealand turned out to be not even near enough so the good old creditcard came in handy once again. Bad thing about this guy is that you still have to pay him back afterwards. While getting to the end of my New Zealand trip I decided to break another promise and phone my boss at Alutech, the Aluminium company ( I had promised myself never to go back to that place ) I told them I got back on the 5th and it was no problem to start on the 6th again.

It turned out this was one of the best decisions I made in a while. By the time I came back to Freo I was able to pay a weeks rent, but that was pretty much it. I survived that week by borrowing some money of my roommate and thank god for lazyness, my magic freezerbag. Before I left New Zealand I was living Life Large in the hostel and I left for New Zealand with a bag full of Steaks, King Prawns, frozen vegetables, Fries and Mince which helped me through the week. It was kind of weird though having no money but still having Steak and King Prawns for dinner.

That first week was pretty much surviving but because I was in a place where I've been for a while and I got a job already lined up it wasn't that bed.

After working 6 days (5 days at Alutech and one at the cruise terminal) there was money again and life became a little better.

Thursday after a weeks work I got another nice suprise Jelmer and Sally (Jelmer is one of my best mates from home and lived with me the last 6 months before we both went to Australia and Sally is his American girlfriend where I became close friends with aswell over the past year.) were done with their trip from Townsville via Darwin all the way down the West Coast and they had arrived in Perth. They came to the resque with a cooler full of Coronas and meat for a Barbeque. Awesome surpise because I thought they weren't coming for a couple of days. After a few beers in the hostel we went for a BBQ in South Beach ( the main beach in Fremantle) It was nice but also really weird at the same time, the last time I had seen them wa in Sydney at the hostel in Bondi over 8 months ago and it was just like I had seen them yesterday. After saying goodbye they invited me for a camping trip over the weekend which sounded good to me.

The next day was poker night in the hostel and I hereby make a note to self that I get bored whith a big stack of chips in front of me I should just by myself out instead of going all in with shitty cards. Anyway the entertainment for the night was arranged and in the end it costed me 5 dollar so it could be worse.

Saturday morning Sally Jelmer and Chris ( an Ozzie who is working as an engineer, Jelmer and Sally met him on the Eastcoast while couchsurfing, he moved West now so they where couchsurfing with him again. ) They picked me up for what I thought was gonna be a camping trip, first we went for a beer at little creatures ( an awesome bar/brewery in Freo with Oceanview)
After that they told me the camping trip was cancelled ut instead we were invited for the Beaufort street festival by Tim ( a guy Jelmer met during his studies in the U.S.) Tim had an awesome appartement next to the festival with an amazing balcony and a communal pool area) we retty much chilled there all day, in between going on the street for the festival. Street festivals in Australia are nice but there is no alcohol allowed on the streets only in the bars which causes long rows for all the bars and even longer ques for getting a beer from the bartender. After an hour or so we were fed up with it and went back to the appartment. When we came back Tim the host came limping back because he had just tried to jump the fence of the neighbouring bar and landed on metal spike while doing this He had to get stitched in the hospital and we could stay in his appartment for the time being. (After a while the appartment filled up with people again who all had the problem of getting in to bars. We ended the night by the pool before we decided to back to Chris his appartment.

The next day Jelmer, Sally and me went for a little trip to Serpentine national park. It was about an hour driving and when we got there we did a short hike of an hour ( an absolute waste of time, nothing to see and way to warm anyway) and went for a swim near the waterfalls ( also pretty shitty and the water smelled really bad so after twenty minutes or so we decided to go back. By the end of the afternoon we got back to Freo and they dropped me of before going to Chris.

The following week was wrapping windows at Alutech as usual (for the poeple who don't know what I'm doing there. I'm wrapping Aluminium doors and windows, make them ready for shipment and put them in creates. It's by far the best job I ever had in my life, and I wish I could do this until I am 67 :) (Sarcasm, for those of you who don't know my sense of humor that well)

The following weekend was lined up with plans made by Jelmer again, who seemed to have a neverending supply of people he met on his previous travel living in Perth. That saturday we first went for a strawl around Freo, Visited the markets (always good to start the day with free samples of pretty much everything they sell there) went to the Shipwreck museum (which is full of Dutch history of the East Indian Trading company time) pretty interesting but I had been there before so it was a little bit boring. After an hour or so we decided to go to the beach, we drove to a little beach between Freo and Perth and had a few drinks on the beach and a little swim. After the beach it was time for a BBQ at Lee's place. Lee is an Ozzie Jelmer met in South America and he invited us for a BBQ at his parents. This was a really nice evening and the best thing was that his mom was half Dutch and they had Speculaas in the Kitchen. That night it was crashing at Chris his place again the next morning we were picked up by Ron and Phillipa ( They were studying in Copenhagen with Devon who is one of Jelmers best mates from the US ) To go Sailing on Catamarans on Perth River. This was good fun and after getting soaking wet for an hour on the boat we decided it was enough. We went home for an awesome lunch and then went to a birthday party of one of Pip's mates in Freo and ended the night with some cheep Asian food in the local foodcourt.

Jelmer and Sally where leaving the next day for a roadtrip down south to visit Jasper and Stefanie (one of our best mates from home as well) I thought about going all weekend but decided that I need the money to pay of my creditcard so I stayed in Freo.

The last two weeks have been pretty boring, I'm reading more than even try to spend as little money as possible and I discoverd the Ping Pong table downstairs which is good fun.

As you can read I am still alive and doing allright. The next few weeks I'm going to decide what my plans are and I will keep you posted.


Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Thijs

Actief sinds 22 Maart 2013
Verslag gelezen: 294
Totaal aantal bezoekers 25073

Voorgaande reizen:

06 Maart 2013 - 06 Maart 2014

Australië, Nieuw Zeeland

Landen bezocht: